If you are interested in Utah insurance market, then this article is for you. It will inform you on the requirements you will need to fulfill to become an insurance agent in the state of Utah.
Continue reading to find out what it takes to get an insurance license in Utah.
The basic requirements to start the insurance licensing process are being at least 18 years old and having a Social Security Number. You must also be a resident of the state.
You can become an insurance agent providing that you master the laws, regulations and other professional knowledge related to the field of insurance.
The state of Utah does not require completing a particular amount of pre-license courses as an educational requirement. On the contrary, the preparation for the exam is your responsibility and you are to plan the entire process.
You may either study on your own or attend a pre-license course. If you choose the first option, then you can schedule the studying days, learn all the material and repeat. Accordingly, you will understand the material better day by day and start writing practice tests.
In case you need material for preparation, you can search on the Internet or ask licensed insurance agents for advice.
Similarly, you may also choose the second option- taking a pre-license course. As a rule, these courses have high first time passing rates and guarantee success. They not only provide you with the necessary knowledge, but also take responsibility for you.
Nevertheless, each option does not guarantee passing the exam unless you devote your time to exam preparations.
Eventually, after preparing the examination comes. You are to take the Utah Insurance license exam.
Note that you are going to take only one exam for your desired combined line of insurance. The passing score is 70% or higher.
To schedule an exam, follow this link.
Please do not forget to bring a primary ID with you on the examination day so that you are allowed to take it.
Applicants cannot apply for the insurance license unless they pass the state licensing exam and a criminal background check.
If you have criminal conviction involving fraud, misrepresentation, or dishonesty, you will not be eligible to apply for the insurance license for some times.
In this case, you should, first of all, obtain written consent from the Utah Insurance Commissioner.
To have your fingerprints taken, you should make an appointment here.
If you complete the previous steps, you are ready to apply for the insurance license in Utah.
Submit your application online here.
See to it that you apply for all the lines of authority that you wish to specialize in for your future career.
Note that you must submit the insurance application within 90 days of passing the state licensing exam.
Utah Insurance Department
4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129
It is not that hard to get an insurance license in Utah as long as you meet the necessary requirements. You may only have some difficulties with passing the insurance exam, as well as the background check.
However, if you prepare well and do not have past felonies, then there is nothing to fear.
A Utah insurance license expires every two years. Thus, you will need to renew your license when it is due to expire to use it again.